How to use the Online Traceability System in GIP

3. How to - Guidance and Videos

In this chapter find an explanation of the main activities you have to register in the Traceability System and the link to our training videos for the various activities.

KEEP IN MIND - Frequency: According to the Chain of Custody Standard, you must update your trading stock at least once every three months. To keep a better and clearer overview of your available volumes and open transactions, you should update your Traceability System more frequently.

Activities under the tab 'Transactions'


Activity Link to video

Confirm/Reject

When a sale is announced to you, you will see a notification in your Inbox. Check the transaction of your seller and confirm it if all indicated information (volume, dates, traceability level etc.) are correct. The volume will then move to your 'Trading & Stock’. If the transaction is not correct, you can reject it.
How to confirm a transaction

Acknowledge

In case a transaction has been confirmed or rejected by your customer, you will receive a notification in your Inbox. Check if any new activity is requested from you (e.g. if rejected, modify the transaction and resubmit). When you click on acknowledge, it means that have seen the notification and you move it to 'Finalized Transactions'.



Activities under the tab ' Trading & Stock'



Activity Link to video

Sell Announcement

Under ‘Trading & Stock’, you can sell volume from your stock to your buyer. All announcements must represent one or multiple physical deliveries. The information in the transaction (volume, quality, etc.) must be the same as the information reflected in the documentation accompanying the physical delivery. Make sure your buyer has the applicable traceability level in their license, if not it will automatically be downgraded.
How to perform a sell

Downgrade

If you want to change the traceability level to a lower one, you can use the activity downgrade. If downgraded to Mass Balance, you loose all information of the origin/producer and the volumes will be summed up in your Trading & Stock (e.g. total of MB butter volumes).
How to downgrade stock

Convert

With convert, you can reflect your processing activities and change the product into a derivative. This activity is also used under the Mass Balance traceability level when you want to apply UTZ credits to another product. Conversion is only allowed in direction of physical processing (forward). The conversion rates and rules of the different products can be found in the product specific Chain of Custody Standard.
How to convert stock

Trace

Tracing marks the end of the online traceability system for pure UTZ products. Manufacturers of half-finished, consumer-end, or food service products (e.g. coffee roaster, tea packer, chocolate manufacturer) must perform the stock activity trace for all UTZ volumes when:

- Products are packaged and sold as a consumer-end product with UTZ claim on- or off-pack;

- Products are mixed with ingredients different to the pure product (e.g. sugar, milk) or manufactured into extract, aroma, soluble products etc., and which are then claimed as UTZ on- or off-pack;

- The company operates under a non-claiming exemption. It is not allowed to accumulate credits and any volume that was purchased as UTZ and used for production must be traced.

Note: The activity 'trace' cannot be undone.

How to trace

Remove

The stock activity remove can only be used under specific circumstances. Cocoa: If you work with products with traceability level Mass Balance (MB), you must remove volumes only if pure cocoa product is purchased as multi-certified (e.g. UTZ+Fairtrade), and then sold under a certification scheme that is not UTZ (e.g. only Fairtrade). 

If you buy pure cocoa product with traceability level Identity Preserved (IP) or Segregated (SG), you should remove volumes if they are spoiled (due to mold, pest, fire, etc.) – hence cannot be used – , sold as conventional or purchased as multi-certified and sold under another certification scheme that is not UTZ .

Note: the pure cocoa product could also be downgraded to MB, in which case the following section applies.

Coffee and tea: The Remove function may be used only by traders when:

-       Volume has been damaged or lost

-       Volume is purchased as UTZ certified or multi-certified, and is sold either as conventional coffee, or under a certification scheme that is not UTZ certified.

The Remove function may only be used under special circumstances by roasters or blenders:

-        To correct discrepancies between volumes announced in GIP and real volume received after GIP transactions have been confirmed.

-       To correct discrepancies between qualities purchased and qualities received after GIP transactions have been confirmed.